Annual elk drawing picks numerous locals for coveted tag

Dozens of Eastern Kentucky residents have been selected for the opportunity to hunt elk later this year.

The Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife’s annual Elk Drawing event was held over the weekend at the Mountain Arts Center in Prestonsburg. More than 50 Eastern Kentucky residents, including three youths, were selected to take part in elk hunting season, which runs from Sept. 26 through Dec. 11. Hunters are selected to take part in one of four permit divisions, which are broken up into six sub-divisions or weeks.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is elk.jpg

The permit divisions include Bull Firearm, Cow Firearm, Either-Sex Archer/Crossbow and Youth. A total of 594 permits were available for this year’s season. Those selected for permits must sit out of the drawing for three years in order to avoid repeat winners. The drawing is conducted using a third-party vendor utilizing an electronic random drawing.

Local hunters selected in the drawing, which was broadcast live on Facebook, included:

Either Sex – Youth
Robert Burchett, Salyersville
Kaiden Isaac, Jackhorn
Grayson Mollette, Tomahawk

Either Sex Archery/Crossbow
Brian Burnopp, Shelbiana
Zackery Castle, Flat Gap
Christopher Collins, Hindman
John Goble, Langley
Joshua Greene, Blaine
Kristopher Hall, Emmalena
Ricky Hamilton, Teaberry
Cameron Harmon, Pilgrim
Coty Howard, Inez
Chris Isaac, Jackhorn
Jason Lucas, Jenkins
Andrew Messer, Buckhorn
Stephen Mullins, Sidney
Chandra Porter, Harold
Michael Salyer, McDowell
Teddy Shepherd, Hueysville
Randy Smith, David
Emily Stewart, Varney

Cow Firearm – Week 1
Robert Cornett, Hindman
Donald Farler, Hazard
Hobart Keathley, Teaberry
Mason O’Connor, Pikeville
Andrew Shepherd, David
John Taylor, Isom
Andrew Thacker, Pikeville
Brandon Thacker, Prestonsburg
George Thomas, Hindman

Cow Firearm – Week 2
Chris Fugate, Pikeville
Brandon Johnson, Hazard
Judy Justice, Harold
Derek Mollette, Inez
Mason Slone, Lackey
Brandon Thomas, Pinetop
Kevin Varney, Belfry

Bull Firearm – Week 1
William Damron, Pikeville
Tony Epling, Elkhorn City
Danny Kidd, Dana
Ezra Knight, Hazard
Kelli Maynard, Pilgrim
Chuck Morris, Mayking
Jeffrey Reed, Sitka
Ronnie Ron Stewart, Hazard

Bull Firearm – Week 2
James Dye, McDowell
Raymond Griffie, Hazard
Timothy Harp, Hazard
Christopher Houston, Hager Hill
Kory Jarrell, Dana
Matthew Pelton, Wittensville
Ryan Varney, Belfry

The above list is not an official list. Hunters receiving elk permits this year will be notified by the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources this week. For more information, visit

leave a reply