Cities to receive COVID relief money

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Small cities around the state are receiving money from the American Rescue Plan.

Gov. Andy Beshear announced Thursday that $157 million would be distributed to “non-entitlement” cities — which are typically cities with populations under 50,000.

The funding will arrive as soon as next week to offset expenses related to COVID-19, including the costs of personal protective equipment, vaccination clinics, loss of revenue, payroll and more.

“Local governments have been important partners in our battle against COVID-19, and we know they have taken on great hardship and expenses to protect our people,” said Gov. Beshear. “I’m relieved our eligible city governments will receive these funds, because if we are to build a better Kentucky, we must ensure our communities are supported and positioned for growth.”

Cities in the Mountain Top News coverage area receiving money include:

  • Allen, Floyd County: $44,540.95
  • Buckhorn, Perry County: $35,995.30
  • Coal Run Village, Pike County: $393,617.69
  • Elkhorn City, Pike County: $230,473.51
  • Fleming-Neon, Letcher County: $175,315.25
  • Hazard, Perry County: $1,258,540.76
  • Hindman, Knott County: $$175,574.20
  • Inez, Martin County: $99,788.25
  • Jackson, Breathitt County: $502,121.51
  • Jenkins, Letcher County: $499,531.92
  • Louisa, Lawrence County: $602,597.60
  • Martin, Floyd County: $143,463.29
  • Paintsville, Johnson County: $1,033,246.43
  • Pikeville, Pike County: $1,696,440.43
  • Pippa Passes, Knott County: $170,653.98
  • Prestonsburg, Floyd County: $914,643.20
  • Salyersville, Magoffin County: $429,095.07
  • Warfield, Martin County: $45,463.50
  • Wayland, Floyd County: $82,069.79
  • Wheelwright, Floyd County: $130,256.38
  • Whitesburg, Letcher County: $477,261.44

You can find a full list of Kentucky cities receiving money at