17 to challenge McConnell in 2020

When the filing deadline for statewide political office expired Friday, more than a dozen candidates stood to oppose longtime Kentucky Sen. Mitch McConnell.

A total of 17 candidates will oppose McConnell, the Senate Majority Leader, in the 2020 election cycle. As reported by the Lexington Herald-Leader, the 17 candidates are a portion of more than 300 Kentuckians who filed for state and federal offices.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell

McConnell has served in the Senate since 1984 and became the Senate Republican leader in 2006. He became Senate Majority Leader in 2016 when Republicans took control of the Senate.

The Herald-Leader is reporting that 246 candidates filed to run in the state legislature, including 138 Republicans and 108 Democrats. Republicans own super majorities in both of Kentucky’s legislative chambers and all 100 House seats and 19 seats in the Senate are up for grabs.

leave a reply